Malaysia Hits Record 3,309 New Covid-19 Cases

There are currently 190 Covid-19 patients in ICU, including 83 on ventilator support.

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 12 — Malaysia reported a 24-hour all-time high of 3,309 new Covid-19 infections, pushing total official cases to 141,533.

Active cases now number at 30,390 Covid-19 cases. The total number of Covid-19 patients being treated in the intensive care unit (ICU) is 190, including 83 on ventilator support.

Almost 78 per cent of today’s new cases were reported in Selangor (1,007 cases), Johor (442 cases), and Sabah (409 cases). About 13.3 per cent of today’s new infections (439 cases) were related to clusters from lockups, immigration detention centres, and prisons.

Only six imported infections were reported today, while 3,303 cases were locally transmitted.

Four new Covid-19 deaths were reported today, with the overall death toll standing at 559 fatalities.

Eleven new Covid-19 clusters were reported nationwide today, pushing active clusters to 261.

Covid-19 cases reported today according to state are as follows, with only Perlis reporting zero new infections:

  • Selangor: 1,007
  • Johor: 442
  • Sabah: 409
  • Kuala Lumpur: 326
  • Penang: 317
  • Perak: 241
  • Sarawak: 146
  • Pahang: 96
  • Kelantan: 86
  • Negeri Sembilan: 85
  • Kedah: 62
  • Putrajaya: 36
  • Melaka: 21
  • Terengganu: 20
  • Labuan: 15

Sarawak’s State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) separately reported today that the Pasai cluster that originated from a longhouse in Sibu notched up an additional 83 new Covid-19 cases in Sibu, 12 infections in Kanowit, and two in Dalat.

The 146 new Covid-19 infections in Sarawak were detected in Sibu (92), Sebauh (20), Kanowit (12), Miri (11), Beluru (three), Kuching (three), Dalat (two), Saratok (one), Bintulu (one), and Limbang (one).

A new Covid-19 cluster, the Bukit Sekubong cluster, was found in Sebauh district in Bintulu. The index case was identified through a symptomatic screening on January 8 after getting treated at the Sebauh public health clinic. A total of 21 Covid-19 cases have been detected in the cluster.

A two-week Movement Control Order (MCO) is scheduled to be enforced from tomorrow until January 26 in the Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan), Selangor, Penang, Johor, Melaka, and Sabah.

Meanwhile, a Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) will be implemented in Pahang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Kelantan, Kedah, and Terengganu during the same period.

You may also like